top of page

If I directed a movie based on “A secret history”

“A Secret History” by Donna Tartt is one of the best books I’ve read in 2020, because the plot is amazing and the vibes are immaculate. That’s why I think that it would be amazing if someone made a movie out of this book, so in this article I would tell you guys how I would make it if I was a film director.

  • Aesthetic

Of course it will feature the dark academia aesthetic. Prestigious universities, elite students, Ancient Greek and Latin, cigarettes and even a murder... what is more dark academia than this?

  • Cast members

These are the actors that I would choose for the main roles:

- Timothée Chalamet as Francis Abernathy

While reading this book, I imagined this character just like Thmothée, and we cannot deny that he has major dark academia vibes.

- Dianna Agron as Camille Macaulay

Dianna Agron could easily kill every role, but especially this one.

- Jordan Connor as Henry Winter

I don’t know why, he just reminds me of Henry whenever I see him

- Dane Dehaan as Charles Macaulay

No explanation needed for him

- Tom Holland as Richard Papen

They’re both cuties, and I just know that he would absolutely kill this role.

- Dylan Sprouse as Bunny Corcoran

It took me a while to figured it out, but I think that Dylan Sprouse would be the perfect Bunny

  • Soundtrack

This is the link to a playlist inspired by this book which includes: - Achilles come down by Gang of youths; - In the wood somewhere by Hozier; - Two ghosts by Harry Styles; - Lose your soul by Dead Man’s Bones

  • Locations

What I liked the most about this book are the descriptions of the locations, so that’s how I imagine them:

- University of Bennington

I imagine it as a gothic building, with lots of rooms for the different courses and a large library for the students.

- Francis’ house

I imagine the cottage of Francis’ aunt as an old building in the countryside, the perfect place for the group to spend sunny days together

- Henry’s house

I know that it isn’t exactly the house described in the book, but I think that it would be perfect for Henry

- Richard’s room

We know from Donna Tartt’s descriptions that Richard’s room isn’t luxury, but it is still pretty comfortable, so I imagine it with simple forniture, a single bed and a desk just like the one in the picture

And that’s all for now! Stay tuned for my next article! Lots of love, @evilprinxes

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Publicar: Blog2_Post
bottom of page